Dialog Schools Rugby League 2024 kick off this weekend with eight exciting games

By Special Correspondent

The much anticipated Dialog Schools Rugby League 2024 will kick off this Friday, 14th of June, with the curtain raiser clash between hosts St. Joseph’s College and Vidyartha College at Havelock Park.


With the opening match of the 2024 School Rugby League season, St. Joseph’s will be hopeful of pulling off a win against Vidyartha, as the two sides meet for the first time after many moons.


The Josephians completed fourth in Group 1A last season with three wins and three losses in six games last season, while Vidyartha were placed fifth in Group 2A with two wins and four losses from a similar number of outings.


Seven more matches are scheduled for Saturday, 15th of June, at venues around Colombo and Kandy, and the most notable among the lot will be the game between Trinity College and S. Thomas’ College taking place at Pallekele.


On the previous occasion where both teams met each other in a League clash two years ago at the same venue, Trinity recorded a close 20-13 win against the Thomians after a grand battle.


After two years since Royal College handed a thrashing of 53-0 against Kingswood College, the two sides will meet again at the Royal College Sports College Sports Complex, as the hosting side looks forward to a similar repeater.


St. Anthony’s College hasn’t met Science College in recent years, but the two sides will surely treat their outing this weekend at Nittawela to test their skill levels.


Among other matches, Isipathana College will host newcomers Sri Sumangala College at Havelock Park, D.S. Senanayake College will meet Dharmaraja at Longdon Place, St. Peter’s College will host Thurstan College at Bambalapitiya and Zahira College will take on Wesley College at Maradana.


All four matches will be of much interest as the opponents have not met in recent years, or will be making their debut against an experienced rival.  


A total of eight matches have been lined up for this weekend in the Division 1 Segment ‘A’, where 16 schools are grouped into two of eight teams each.


Friday (14th June)

St. Joseph’s College vs Vidyartha College at Havelock Park (3.45pm)


Saturday (15th June)

Isipathana College vs Sri Sumangala College at Havelock Park (4.00pm)

St. Anthony’s College vs Science College at Nittawela (4.00pm)

D.S. Senanayake College vs Dharmaraja College at Longdon Place (4.00pm)

Trinity College vs S. Thomas’ College at Pallekele (4.00pm)

St. Peter’s College vs Thurstan College at Bambalapitiya (4.00pm)

Royal College vs Kingswood College at Royal Complex (4.00pm)

Zahira College vs Wesley College at Maradana (4.00pm)

Check Also

Champions of Support: Appreciating St. Peter’s College Rugby Sponsors at the 2024 Felicitation Ceremony

By Theara Hallock 26th May 2024 St. Peter’s College, the defending double champions of school …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
error: Content is protected !!