Maithri Vithanage heads Old Wesleyites Sports Club for a second term – 2020/2021

Old Wesleyites Sports Club (OWSC) held its 29th Annual General Meeting at the Club house on the 11th September 2020.  Maithri Vithanage who has been a long-standing active member of the Club and with OBU was re-appointed unanimously as the President of OWSC to serve for 2020/2021 calendar year.

OWSC AGM 2020- President-elect Maithri Vithanage

Maithri wants to focus on the following areas during his tenure and he wishes to see Old Wesleyites gathering around the Committee of Management and supporting them in further developing OWSC.

  • Develop OWSC and Wesley image – Keeping College motto and vision in mind, carry out activities, events to build OWSC, its image and make this the place to be for Old Wesleyites
  • Infrastructure Development – enhance the facilities and add more value to Club House and to the membership
  • Membership Drive – Invite young Old Wesleyites to join the Club and patronize the Club regularly
  • Sports Development – encourage Old Wesleyites to take part and compete in Sports activities under OWSC banner
  • Entertainment – provide best of entertainment and dining experience at OWSC for members and their guests

Here’s wishing Maithri and his team all the best!


The following members were elected to serve the club in year 2020/2021 as the Executive Committee

Patron – Mr. Sri Shanmugalingam

Vice Patrons

Mr. Ivor Maharoof

Mr. Jeremy Brohier

Mr. L.C.R.Wijesinghe

Mr. Lucky Goonetilleke

Mr. P.B. Herat

Mr. Rohan Perera

Mr. S. Renganathan

Mr. Richie Sappideen

Mr. Fowzil Nawaz


General Committee

Immediate Past President -Mr. Farman Cassim

President – Maithri Vithanage

Secretary – Shaheem Mahir

Treasurer -Mahesh Vijenayaka

Asst. Secretary –  Shehan Dilruk Weerasuriya

Asst Treasurer – Ruckshan Fernando

Asst Treasurer – Inoka Perera


Vice Presidents

Senaka Amaratunge

Dharshana Liyanage

Divakar Ratnadurai

Laksanda Gunawardana

Mithral Perera

Mohamed Nizam

Peter Peiris

Nawaal Qasim

Oska  Dissanayake

Dilshan Hossan

General Committee 

Ranjeeva Senanayake

Shafraz Naizer

Nallathamby Sivaruban

Ranil Thilakaratne

Babu Balan

Darshana Medagedara

Mohamed Sharfaan Wadood

Ryan Kern

Shehan Arooz

Edward Vandendriesen

Benzy Fernando

Shankar Ratnadurai

Manesh Jerome

Ajeewan Arumugam

Shamin Ganegoda

Silmy Faizal

Prasanna Wirakoon

Shanthilal Mendis

Sapumal  Perera

Afzal Abdullah

Inamul Hassan

Nalin Fernando

Aruna Wijesekera

Laxmananraj Ganeshkumar

Colonel Rizan Hamidon

About Sujith Silva

Check Also

Asia Rugby Div 1 Championship – Tuskers turning up to end a long drought!

Asia Rugby Division 1 Championship 2024 will kick off the Asia Rugby season with Sri …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
error: Content is protected !!