Historic Golfing Tournaments Conclude with Thrilling Matches at Royal Colombo Golf Club

By: Afflli Raheem

The Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) and the Nuwara Eliya Golf Club (NEGC) recently concluded a momentous day of golfing hosted at the RCGC of four prestigious tournaments, marking a significant milestone in the history of both clubs. Golf enthusiasts from both clubs gathered to witness the thrilling matches and celebrate the spirit of camaraderie that defines these age-old tournaments.

The awards ceremony, graced by the esteemed presence of The Captain of The Royal Colombo Golf Club, Dr. Rohitha Silva, and the Captain of the Nuwara Eliya Golf Club, Sudath Kumara, began with a warm welcome extended to the members and golf enthusiasts of both clubs. The event also honored the remarkable heritage of the tournaments, with both clubs celebrating the 120th Burdett Trophy, the 80th Puffin Cup played by the lady golfers of both clubs, the 125th Anniversary Trophy, and the Masters’ Trophy.

The competitions showcased the true essence of golf, with players exhibiting remarkable skills, determination, and sportsmanship. Spectators were treated to an array of captivating matches that kept everyone on the edge of their seats throughout the day.

The Puffin Cup winners; RCGC lady golfers, Captained by Manori Jayakody.

The Puffin Cup, contested by the lady golfers from both clubs, witnessed an outstanding performance by the RCGC lady golfers, who emerged victorious with an impressive scoreline of 6.5 to 1.5 matches. The Lady Captain of the Puffin Cup of Nuwara Eliya Golf Club, Ahaliya Rajan, graciously presented the coveted trophy to the Captain of the winning team Manori Jayakody

In the Masters’ Trophy category, the RCGC team, continued its winning streak, securing a well-deserved victory with a final score of 2.5 to 1.5 matches. The Nuwara Eliya Golf Club Masters Trophy captain, Trevine Fernandopulle, congratulated the Royal Colombo Golf Club team and handed over the trophy to the Captain of the RCGC Masters’ Team Bandula Weerasinghe.

Masters’ Trophy winners; RCGC Masters’, Captained by Bandula Weerasinghe.

The 125th Anniversary Trophy was fiercely contested, with the NEGC triumphing in a close encounter with a scoreline of 8 to 7 matches. The Captain of the RCGC 125th Anniversary Team, Ranil Pathirana, gracefully acknowledged the efforts of the competing teams and handed over the trophy to the victorious NEGC Captain Dr. Nayana Dehigama.

The grand finale of the day featured the 120th Burdett Trophy, undoubtedly one of the oldest golfing team tournaments globally, symbolizing a long-standing tradition of golfing excellence between the two clubs. After losing the morning foursomes matches 3 to 1 in a display of resilience and skill in the singles games played in the afternoon, the RCGC emerged triumphant and secured the Burdett Trophy with a score of 7 to 5 matches, which was shared by the two clubs in their previous encounter at the 119th edition of the tournament. The Captain of the NEGC Burdett Trophy Team, Sudath Kumara, commended the spirited performance of both teams and presented the trophy to the Captain of the Royal Colombo Golf Club Dr. Rohitha Silva.

120th Burdett Trophy winners; RCGC Team, Captained by Dr. Rohitha Silva.

Speaking at the ceremony, Dr. Rohitha Silva expressed his delight in witnessing such competitive and congenial golfing traditions carried forward by both clubs. Dr. Rohitha extended his heartfelt appreciation to all participants for upholding the true spirit of the game and contributing to the success of the tournaments.

The RCGC’s winning Burdett Team comprised Dr. Rohitha Silva (Capt.), Amrith De Soyza, Gehan Siribaddana, Mahela Jayawardena, Shamal Perera, Ranil Peiris, Noordeen Sethwala, Rajeev Rajapakse, Sachin De Silva, Husni Uwise, Yannik Kumara, and Vinuda Weerasinghe,

The 120th Burdett Trophy, Puffin Cup, 125th Anniversary Trophy, and Masters Trophy have left an indelible mark in the annals of golfing history. As the sun set on the Royal Colombo Golf Club golf course, the resounding message of unity and sportsmanship echoed loud and clear, ensuring that these cherished traditions will continue to thrive for generations to come.

Photo album will be published shortly.

About Sujith Silva

Check Also


by AFZAL LAPHIR Antonian skipper Thisara Ekanayake continued his remarkable form of late by notching …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
error: Content is protected !!