LC BC Returns , Ladies’ College to host the 16th encounter


By Nuwangi Gunawardena

The annual Ladies’ College- Bishop’s College hockey encounter for the LC- BC Shield will be played on the 1st of October 2022 after a two-year hiatus. This will be the 16th encounter between the two teams and it will be hosted by Ladies’ College, Colombo.

The first ever hockey encounter between Ladies’ College and Bishop’s College was played in 2005, where the Ladies’ College Under 19 Hockey Team was captained by Sahithya Manoharana and Bishop’s College was led by Raveena Hulangamuwa. Ladies’ College won the match 1-0, sealing the first of their eighth encounter win. LC would then go on to record five consecutive wins from 2005-2009, before Bishop’s College led by Thilini Herath fought back to draw the encounter in 2010.

The shield has since then changed hands many times, with Bishop’s College recording five wins, including the last encounter in 2019 where they secured the overall trophy with a 2 – 0 win over Ladies’ College in the Under 19 match after Under 17 encounter ended in a 1-1 all draw.

The encounter was not played in 2020 and 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. However, an Under 19 friendly match hosted by Bishop’s College was played between the 2021 teams on 30th April 2022 which the Bishopians won 1-0.

This year, the LC-BC finally returns to Astro Turf kicking off with the Under 17 match at 2.30 pm followed by the Under 19 1st XI match at 4.00 pm. Ladies’ College U 19 1st XI will be led by Seneca Dissanayake and Bishop’s College U 19 1st XI will be led by Onaya Kulatunga. Former Ladies’ College captain Mayanka Kalupathirana will be the chief guest for this year’s encounter.

Quadrangle will bring exclusive Live coverage from the venue, from 2.00 pm onwards!


Watch the pre match interview:

Watch the friendly encounter played earlier this year:

Watch the highlights of 2019 encounter:

Check Also

17th LC BC Hockey Encounter

The 17th Annual LC BC Hockey encounter between Ladies’ College and Bishop’s College was played …

One comment

  1. The 2005 LC captain was *Saakidhya Manohara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
error: Content is protected !!